Databases

 

Menomonee Falls Library patrons have free access to a large selection of databases that are not typically available to the general public. These databases are available because of purchasing agreements through Bridges Library System and others are licensed exclusively for Wisconsin residents through BadgerLink. Some are available for in library use only, but many are available for use at home with a Menomonee Falls or CAFÉ Library card.

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition is a comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.

Ancestry Library Edition – In Library Use ONLY

Association of Wisconsin Newspapers

The Wisconsin Newspaper Associtaion Digital Research Site allows access 235 daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers. Content is available from April 2005 through 60 days ago. Includes Waukesha Freeman, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Kettle Moraine Index, Lake Country Reporter, Sussex Sun, Oconomowoc Focus, Mukwonago Chief, Brookfield News, Elm Grove Elm Leaves, Menomonee Falls News, Muskego Sun, New Berlin Citizen, Oconomowoc Enterprise, Palmyra Enterprise

Association of Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site – Home Use
Association of Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site – Library Use

Auto Repair Reference Center

A do-it-yourself resource for repairing and maintaining domestic and imported vehicles.

Auto Repair Reference Center – Home Use
Auto Repair Reference Center – In Library Use

BadgerLink

BadgerLink is Wisconsin’s Online Library, providing Wisconsin residents with licensed content not available through regular search engines.

Badgerlink

Britannica School

Level-appropriate reference articles, journals and magazines, the Web’s Best Sites, multimedia, and curriculum content.

Business Source Premier

2,200 journals in marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, county reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Business Source Premier – Home Use
Business Source Premier – Library Use

Consumer Health Complete

A resource for consumer health content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.

Consumer Health Complete – Home Use
Consumer Health Complete – Library Use

Consumer Reports

Product reviews and Ratings on cars, appliances, electronics and more.

Consumer Reports Online – Home Use
Consumer Reports Online – Library Use

EBSCO eBooks

An electronic book collection of nonfiction titles. Titles can be checked-out and downloaded, and read on your computer when you are not connected to the Internet, or can be transferred to your Adobe Digital Editions-compatible eBook Reader device.

Ebsco eBooks

EBSCOHost

Magazines, journals, newspapers, images and reference resources covering education, health, business, science, history, and general areas of interest.

EBSCOhost – Home Use
EBSCOhost – Library Use

Explora

Explora is EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:

  • Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
  • Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
  • Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
  • Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
  • Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
  • Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
  • Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards

Explora for Elementary Schools
Explora for Middle and High Schools
Explora for Everyone

Flipster

Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device.

Flipster

Gale Courses

Bridges Library System libraries offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online through Gale Courses

Gale Courses

Heritage Quest

US Federal Census information, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials.

Heritage Quest – Home Use
Heritage Quest – Library Use

History Reference Center

The History Reference Center offers full text from reference books, encyclopedias, periodicals, and non-fiction books. Also includes historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

History Reference Center – Home Use
History Reference Center – Library Use

JobNow

Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques. Experience personalized career center seamlessly integrated with advanced virtual technology to help job seekers of diverse backgrounds and needs.

Job Now

Learning Express

Learning Express offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information needed to achieve results—at school, at work, or in life. The Computer Skills Learning Center includes interactive courses on Microsoft Access, Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, and Word. Looking to land a job? An entire Learning Center is dedicated to help job seekers. Practice tests include SAT and ACT.

Learning Express – Home Use
Learning Express – Library Use

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center contains full text of plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews, and much more.

Literary Reference Center – Home Use
Literary Reference Center – Library Use

LitFinder

LitFinder is primary literature content, including citations and full text of hundreds of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays.

LitFinder – Home Use
LitFinder – Library Use

Morningstar

Use Morningstar to find stocks or mutual funds, research current or prospective holdings.

Morningstar – Home Use
Morningstar – Library Use

Newspaper Archive

Newspaper Archive offers millions of searchable historical newspaper pages from the 1700s. PDF format of original content.

Newspaper Archive – Home Use
Newspaper Archive – Library Use

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

Newspaper Source Plus – Home Use
Newspaper Source Plus – Library Use

NoveList K-8

NoveList K-8 contains enhanced subject access for over 60,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population.

NoveList K-8 – Home Use
NoveList K-8 – Library Use

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus includes over 200,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles, plus lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, book talks, recommended reads and more.

NoveList Plus – Home Use
NoveList Plus – Library Use

ReferenceUSA

Information on U.S. companies & consumers.

Reference USA – Home Use
Reference USA – Library Use

Rosetta Stone

Learn a language online with Rosetta Stone®, the world’s best language-learning software.

Rosetta Stone – Home Use
Rosetta Stone – Library Use

Salem Press

The Salem Health, Salem History, Salem Literature and Salem Science databases are available at home to MFPL users.

Salem Press

TeachingBooks.net

TeachingBooks.net offers in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of book readings, guides to thousands of titles and multimedia resources on children’s and young adult literature.

TeachingBooks.net – Home Use
TeachingBooks.net – Library Use

Wisconsin’s Digital Library

A growing collection of downloadable fiction and nonfiction titles in audio and electronic format. Read or listen from your computer or click here to see if your portable device is compatable.

Wisconsin’s Digital Library